MEDIA is the EU support programme for the European audiovisual industry. 

MEDIA co-finances training initiatives for audiovisual industry professionals, the development of production projects (feature films, television drama, documentaries, animation and new media), as well as the promotion of European audiovisual works...

The MEDIA 2007 Programme is divided into five action lines:

On November 15, 2006  the European Parliament and the Council adopted a new programme to support the European audiovisual sector: MEDIA 2007. The budget will be €755 million over seven years (2007-2013).

Like its forerunners, MEDIA 2007 will focus on preproduction and post-production activities (distribution and promotion). However, in contrast to MEDIA II (1996-2000) and MEDIA Plus/MEDIA Training (2001-2006), EU funding will be channelled through a single programme.

The new focus

The consequences of the digital revolution and the enlargement of the EU for the European audiovisual market required a radical rethink of the priorities and structure of the new programme. The public consultation carried out by the Commission in preparation for MEDIA 2007 identified areas where changes were required. Firstly, action under the MEDIA programme had to be adapted to developments in technology and the market, to reflect the consequences of digitisation. MEDIA 2007 also had to address the problems of audiovisual professionals in the new EU countries, and include innovative, targeted action in the field of digitisation and measures to facilitate access to credit for small and medium-sized businesses.

The overall objectives of MEDIA 2007 have been decided on the basis of these requirements.


  • to preserve and enhance European cultural diversity and its cinematographic and audiovisual heritage, guarantee accessibility to this for Europeans and promote intercultural dialogue;  

  • to increase the circulation of European audiovisual works inside and outside the European Union;  

  • to strengthen the competitiveness of the European audiovisual sector in the framework of an open and competitive market.  

Measures funded under MEDIA 2007 must:

  • take account of both the importance of the creative process in the European audiovisual sector and the cultural value of Europe's cinematographic and audiovisual heritage.  

  • strengthen the production structures of small businesses to make the European audiovisual sector more competitive, as they constitute its core. This will mean contributing to the spread of a business culture for the sector and facilitating private investment.  

  • reduce imbalances between European countries with a high audiovisual production capacity and countries with low production capacity or a restricted linguistic area. This priority responds to the need to preserve and enhance cultural diversity and inter-cultural dialogue in Europe. It will foster transparency and competition on the single market, and thereby potential economic growth for the whole Union.  

Finally, the programme will follow and support market developments with regard to digitisation. It will put in place measures to accompany the changes that digitisation is producing in the audiovisual sector at all stages of the production and distribution chain, including in terms of new skills for professionals in the sector.

The following countries are members of the MEDIA programme:

All EU members (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, UK) and Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway. Switzerland - the agreement for participation in the MEDIA 2007 Programme has been signed.

MEDIA Desks have been established in all participating countries.

Other countries may join at a later date, depending upon negotiations with the European Commission. Participation in MEDIA 2007 is possible for accession countries (Turkey and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), for countries benefiting from a strategy of pre-accession to the EU (Bosnia, Serbia including Kosovo, Albania, Montenegro) and for third European countries under clearly defined conditions.
The MEDIA Programme envisages the following forms of participation and cooperation:

  1. Participation of European countries which are parties to the Council of Europe Convention on Trans-frontier Television. Participation of European countries which are parties to the Convention on Trans-frontier Television is subject to prior examination of the compatibility of their national legislation with Community legislation (including the ratification of the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions).  

  2. A more limited participation of European countries which are parties to the Council of Europe Convention on Trans-frontier Television as regards the acquisition and improvement of skills in the audiovisual field. This limited participation does not require an analysis of the compatibility of national legislation with Community legislation.  

  3. Cooperation with other third countries, which have concluded Association and Cooperation Agreements with the European Union incorporating clauses on the audiovisual sector and sharing a common approach on cultural diversity with the EU.  

All these forms of participation and cooperation require supplementary appropriations and specific arrangements to be agreed upon. This refers to a framework agreement on the participation of the country in Community programmes (which exists for candidate countries and potential candidate countries) or an international agreement, a Memorandum of Understanding and an agreement on the financial contribution of the country to the programme.